The Thanksgiving Post

Thanksgiving is the number one BEST holiday ever created.  Christmas is great, and so are all of the other big holidays, but to me, nothing comes close to Thanksgiving.  There is just so much I love about it.  I love being able to spend time with my family. I love that we have a day set aside for feasting.  I mean, really?  Can it get any better than that?  Thanksgiving is kind of a long day for my family.  We start early in the morning and eat all day.  Because of peoples schedules this year (mostly mine), we are also setting up our Christmas stuff.  I’m pretty excited to be able to spend a whole day with my family.  That doesn’t happen very often.

My family is awesome.  They are pretty much the best people I know.  We’re all kind of weird and extremely honest with each other.  We just do and say what is on our minds.  Sometimes this is a shocker for people we have over that are a little more conservative.  My mom loves to cook, and likes to get feedback on her food.  We love to eat, and we like to tell her what is good and what isn’t.  When my ultra-conservative brother-in-law had dinner with us for his first time, he about went into shock when we told our mom that her new recipe wasn’t very good.  Things like that were not allowed to be said in his house.  It’s kind of funny.  Anyway, sorry about that tangent.  About my family.

My mom is really the epitome of what my family is.  She is so loving and kind.  At her fiftieth birthday party, everybody commented on how she is always giving.  It is true.  She invited some new neighbors from the UK over for thanksgiving this year.  This isn’t the first time we’ve had guests over for Thanksgiving.  She has invited families from India, students who had to stay up here, and sometimes people she barely knows.  She’s always trying to get me to invite my friends over for Sunday dinner.  She loves to talk to people, and she loves to laugh.  She is so accepting of everyone.  She doesn’t always agree with what people are doing with their lives, but she tries to deeply understand why they are doing what they do.  She loves people for who they are.  Simply put, my mom is the bomb.  (Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve used “the bomb”)

This post is really not going anywhere.  This is just what is on my mind.  My family rocks.

4 Responses

  1. Hey man…thanks for writing about your family but more importantly your mom. How you talk about and describe your mom says a lot about you. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving day & the Christmas setup was a success!

  2. I love your mom too.

  3. I love your mom too! Weird. I don’t know anyone who wouldn’t.

  4. Your mom sounds like the biggest sweet heart in the world!

Leave a Reply

