What a night!

I went to the Matis Fireside last night, and it was amazing!  I have so many things that I want to say about it.  Hopefully I can remember everything.

First of all, I need to explain something.  I have tourettes syndrome.  It’s usually not too noticeable unless the weather is changing, I have hay fever, or I am under stress.  One of my tics is blinking and winking.  I’m sorry if I winked at you and made you uncomfortable (or something else….).  I didn’t mean to.

I wasn’t quite so nervous as I thought I would be going down there.  First of all, I want to say that the guys that I went down with are awesome.  I went down with 2 guys from my evergreen group and then one straight guy who was friends with the driver.  He sent out a lot of mixed signals I think.  First of all, he was at the fireside, so everyone assumed he was gay.  He wore a salmon colored shirt which adds to the “gay-ness” of everything, but he did wear a t-shirt that said something about thinking modest girls were hot.  As I met people, a few of them commented on him and had questions.  It was fun to say “That’s our straight friend.”  I was actually really impressed that he came.  He wasn’t really freaked out until he got there.  He was surprised by some of the things he saw, but then he reminded himself where he was.

It was so fun to see so many people there that I feel like I’ve known for a long time.  I got to meet Scott and Sarah, Andy, Robert, BravoneMike and his friend that is supposed to go on a mission.  I had told my friend that I came with that I knew a few people from blogging, but I think I surprised him with how many people I knew.  I also knew some other people through random connections, but it was fun.  I’m glad that I have so much support.  You guys are great! You are all more than welcome to stay with me if you are ever up my way.

Here are a few interesting things that I noticed.  They’re not neccessarily good or bad; just interesting.

– Peoples bubbles are not quite so big.  I felt like people were very close to me.  I was okay with it.  I just noticed that people were a lot closer to me than usual.  I thought it might be because there were so many people, but no.  We were the last ones to leave and I was still feeling the same way.

– Everyone dressed really well.  Nobody looked really sloppy.  I don’t have a really great fashion sense, but I do try to look nice.  I guess that is for the same reason that everyone there was there.  Yep, still can’t bring myself to say the “g” word.

Things that I found humurous:

– When I was told where the bathroom was, I was sent to the unisex bathroom.  How appropriate for a fireside for gay men.

– The candy canes were rainbow colors.  ‘Nuff said.

Things I appreciated:

– How open-minded everyone was.  If this had been any other fireside, I’m certain there would have been very few people in casual clothing, there would have been no clapping, and certainly there would have been no electric guitar (which was my favorite part of the program).

– Once again, how incredibly welcomed I felt.  I really just wanted to hang out with everyone all night long.  I really felt such a connection with everyone I met.  It was awesome.

– The straight people that love us.  I know there is a Bishop who is a blogger, and his goal is to be what he calls a FOTM.  That stands for “Friend of the MoHo’s”.  I really felt so much gratitute for the FOTM’s last night.  I’m grateful for the guy who came to support my friend and the rest of us.  I’m also grateful for the girl that hangs out with a lot of the guys in my group.  She is so kind and loving.  I met her for the first time last night and fell in love with her.  I’m pretty straight up with people and I don’t like to beat around the bush, so I walked up to her and said “So, S———, I appreciate that you hang out with us and everything, but why do you do it?”  I thought that was a very valid question and that she had been asked before.  When I asked her that, all of my friends turned to her and said “Yeah, I’ve been wanting to ask you that for a long time now!”  She wasn’t really sure why she did other than she just loves us.  She said that she’d think about it and get back to me.  I’m grateful for Sarah.  She is so inspiring.

Most of all I’m thankful for the Matis’.  They are incredible, and I feel so much love for them.  They are so incredibly kind.

I’m so glad that I got to meet so many of you.  You are all so wonderful and inspiring.  Thanks for all you do.  You guys rock!

8 Responses

  1. Hey I enjoyed the fireside as well. I didn’t meet you, and just found your blog through another one I read. Great another blog to follow! now I have to play catch up! JK! Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. It was great to meet you last night! Sarah and I (a.k.a. Serendipity and Dichotomy, but you’re welcome to use our real names) had never been to a Matis event before either, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

    I’m glad to count you as a friend. Sarah was commenting just this evening that the friendships we’ve built in the MoHo community feel more “real” than any that we’ve ever had before, really. We’ve always been somewhat solitary. It’s nice to know we’ve finally found somewhere we fit in. 🙂

  3. I’ve never considered that I could be inspiring. But lately, I keep hearing that from people and it is so weird to me. How could little unworthy me be an instrument in God’s hands for such good? I have always wanted to be that kind of person, but never thought that I really am. I see the women in my ward that are stay-at-home moms and so involved in serving others. I feel a twinge of guilt that I work full time. But I guess my job itself, teaching, is a service of sorts. And I never imagined that something like a blog could be considered charitable. My life feels so unreal sometimes!

    Anyway, sorry for babbling. It was nice to meet you, too. Like the other girl you mention in the paragraph with me, I am drawn to you guys. I like hanging out with you. You all have such fun personalities and sweet spirits. It seems that my favorite students have mostly turned out to be gay. There is a feeling of comfort around you people that I have not felt anywhere else.

  4. glad you had a great time…sorry we didn’t get to meet 😦

  5. It was really cool to meet you last night. You are a lot of fun and I enjoy reading blog. Know that I know you, it will be even more meaningful.

    Bravone

  6. Hey man…like others have said, it was great to meet you. It’s obvious the person you are simply by your demeanor. Thanks for chatting this weekend some as well. Have a great week!

  7. Hey man, I’m really really glad that we got to meet. And I’m really glad that you decided to come. You should work to come every month. I do. Yep, I totally agree with you when you say that you love the FOTM’s. and especially the Matis’. I’m totally with you on that. And, regarding you previous post…yeah, sga sucks. I’d do almost anything to not experience it. But, I must say that, being that I don’t seem to get to choose, I’m very very fortunate for the friends I’ve made as a consequense of it. Love you man. And I’m really glad to have met you. Later.

  8. […] A Long Awaited Letter from S. March 10, 2009, 9:10 pm Filed under: SGA Last December, I posted about my first time at the Matis fireside.  I posed a question to my friend, S. that was something to the effect of “Why do you hang […]

Leave a Reply

