Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening

All this snow has been reminding me of a poem I love.  I don’t actually even like snow that much.  I think it is beautiful for while it is snowing for the first time, but only if it snows a lot.  After a few days, I get pretty sick of it and want it to melt until next year.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t do that.  Especially where I live.

Robert Frost is one of my favorite poets.  I think his poetry is so beautiful.  I love the outdoors, so his stuff really speaks to me.  One of my favorite poems of his is Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening.  This comes into a tie with his poem Mending Wall.  I love both of them a lot.

I’m going to admit some really nerdy things about myself in the next 2 paragraphs.

I used to be an English Education Major.  I loved it.  The only reason I’m not right now is because I feel like it isn’t right.  I love to read.  I used to worry a lot about correct word usage.  I don’t care so much about it anymore.  When I was in High School, I stayed up until 3 in the morning reading the Appendix to my English 1010 book, which was the section about correct word usage.  It was one of the most intriguing things I’ve ever read in my life.  Yes, I know that I’m a nerd.

I have a habbit of memorizing things that I really like.  Because I love Stopping By Woods so much, I memorized it when I was 16.  Every year, I go into my parents big yard while it snows and recite the poem.  That is super nerdy, I know.  There is just something about the way that poem makes me feel.  I think it is so serene and beautiful.  Being in a wood that is filling up with snow while reciting a poem about a wood filling up with snow is amazing.  At least to an ex-English Major it is.

So, here is the poem.

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

This doesn’t have really any deep significance to me.  It is just something beautiful to me.

Another thing that makes me think of this poem and also snowfall is a song by Phillip Aaberg called The Gift.  I tried to find a way to put a link on here, but I couldn’t.  If I find anything, I’ll let you know.

3 Responses

  1. Great stuff! I’ve always liked the rhyming scheme in that poem, though it would be cool if the penultimate line in the last stanza rhymed with the first stanza. But then again, that would destroy the awesomeness of that repeated line at the end, so I think I like it better the way it is. Also, my mom loves to say she has miles to go before she sleeps when she has to stay up late.

    Speaking of being a grammar nerd, on my mission I read the super-technical overview of Estonian grammar at the start of the best Estonian-English dictionary while in the MTC. I didn’t understand much of it, but it was awesome. Then in the field I’d re-read every once in a while and get more and more out of it. [That kind of makes it sound like scripture!]

    And finally, I saw a cool picture of Robert Frost here just the other day.

  2. I love this post. And I love this poem. It has always been my favorite.

  3. I love how quirky you are!

Leave a Reply

