A Letter From My Brother-In-Law

My whole family now knows about my big secret.  I told my little sister who is 17 the day after Cookie and I broke up.  My little sister really liked Cookie, and I knew that she would want to know what was really going on.  I had been testing the waters with her for a few months, and I felt like she had a pretty good grasp on things.  She handled things really well and I’m so glad that she did.

I told my older sister just a few days ago, and I knew that she would be very understanding.  She has always been one of my best friends, and we tend to agree on just about everything.  She also handled everything very well.  I told her that it was up to her whether or not she told her husband, but I wanted her to do it, and not me.

I’ve never really felt close to my brother in law.  He’s a great guy and everything, but I just haven’t had the chance to get to know him better than I do.  We have some different points of view, but we are family so we get along.  I knew that I would eventually tell my whole family, but he was the one person I wasn’t too sure about telling.  I just didn’t know how he felt about homosexuality.

He sent me an email last night that I really appreciated, and I wanted to post it here.  This just reminds me that people you wouldn’t think would be understanding can be very understanding.

Hey Hidden
I’m not the most eloquent person on this good green earth so I hope short and to the point is ok with you.  A. (my sister) decided to share with me the problems you are working through right now when she got home last night.  I told her that I really appreciated that she had kept me in the loop with something as difficult as this is.
A lot of thoughts have gone through my head since that conversation, most you probably don’t give a flying rats rear end about but here are a few of them.
I can’t say that I have complete empathy for your problems because that would mean that I had gone through, experienced and overcome the same challenges.  I haven’t.  I have however struggled greatly with similar issues which do lend me great sympathy and understanding toward your situation.
I know we haven’t been blood brothers or anything but I can say this, that A. means everything in this world to me, I mean everything.  Your family means the world to A., and again I mean everything.  That being said, you’re as blood of a brother as you can get.  We are both here to support you in anyway imaginable.  Call, write, visit.  Whatever, whenever, however.  I think you get the point.  Please don’t hesitate even for a minute to ask for any kind of help that you may need as you sort through the issues and difficulties that you find yourself in now and in the future.
All I really care about anymore in this life is that people around me understand God (as much as they are willing) and that they are truly happy.  Everthing else is just monkey poop.  🙂
I think I’m getting redundant here, but I just wanted to let you know that our home is always open to you and you are always welcome to draw from whatever resources we have available (mostly hot air) at anytime you may need them.  Just ask..
We’ll see you on Sunday.
Did he just come out to me?  “I have however struggled greatly with similar issues which do lend me great sympathy and understanding toward your situation.” Just kidding, he’s pretty much as straight as they come.  I really appreciated this and I’m so glad that I have such a loving and understanding family.
3 Responses

  1. Great experience man. Everybody goes through crap, huh? no one is exempt.

  2. Hidden, I am truly happy you are receiving the family support you deserve. Family can be the best support possible. Love you man.
    Bravone

  3. Thanks for sharing these experiences. I’m trying to get up the courage to let my 18 year old sister (and the rest of my siblings) in on my secret, so it helps to have some positive examples to look at.

Leave a Reply

