Loving God Enough

My mission president really loved to use logic to help people progress, and it worked pretty well.  I remember one time I had him come visit an investigator family that had stopped progressing.  They loved the Book of Mormon and read it regularly, but they were not getting anywhere.  It was so frustrating to me because I loved them so much.  The husband of the family (his name is GW – really, that is what his parents named him.  I don’t understand some things about white trash people) made his own alcohol and loved to drink it.  He really didn’t want to give that up.

As my mission president was talking to him, he began to use his logic to try to get GW to think.

Mission President: “GW, you know that alcohol is harmful to your body, right?”

GW: “Yeah, I do.  I know that God doesn’t want me to drink it, but I love it so much.”

MP: “So you are at odds here.  You love alcohol, but you also love God, and the two don’t go together.  You want to drink, and God doesn’t want you to, but you want to follow him because you love him, don’t you?”

GW: “Of course I do”

MP: “On a scale of one to ten, how important is it for you to do what God wants you to do? – 1 being not at all and 10 being more important than anything.”

GW:  “Probably a 9 or a 10”

MP:  “If God were to come to you and tell you to do something, would you do it?”

GW:  “Of course I would.”

MP:  “If God came to you and told you to stop drinking alcohol, would you stop?”

GW:  “Yeah, and I feel like he has, but I love it too much.”

MP:  “Do you think you love alcohol more than you love God?”

GW:  “I think I do.”

I remember when this conversation occured feeling so sad for GW.  How could someone love something so much that they would give up on God and salvation?  Could someone really love something more than they loved God?

I feel like I have a better understanding of what GW must have felt at that time.  Sometimes I feel that way too.  Do I love God enough to give up those things I am probably addicted to (if not addicted, I enjoy but I shouldn’t)?  Do I love God enough to never act on my homosexual tendencies?

Sometimes I feel like I do.  But sometimes I don’t know.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for the very honest and introspective post. It’s a bit ironic that just this morning I posed the same question (in a different way) to myself. I won’t hijack you post to go into it, but I decided that I do love God more than my actions have shown. I recommitted myself to complete obedience. I know I will fall short and continue to sin. I am an imperfect man, but I ask the Lord to take my heart and seal it his.

  2. It’s been WAY to long since we have talked. I really loved this post. From this post a question was created in my mind that I will try to blog about later today after I’ve had some time to think about it some. Thanks for sharing this thought.

  3. Andy! I can’t wait to see what you have to say. I love reading your thoughts, so don’t take too long!

Leave a Reply

