My Name is Jeff, and I’m a Gay Mormon

I’m slowly letting myself come out more and more.  I’m not ashamed of the fact that I’m gay and that I’m active in the LDS church.  I want people to understand me and my situation better.  I want those who experience same gender attraction to know they are not alone and that they are normal.  I want them to know that there are more options then “living a lie in the church” and “living the lifestyle”.

I want members of the church that have little or no experience with homosexuality other than what they see and hear on the news to be more understanding of something that tends to be taboo in Mormon culture.  I want all members of the church to be more understanding and loving of those who are different.  We all have things that we have to deal with, and some of those things are easy to hide.  Usually those things that are hidden are usually the things that can provide the greatest learning experiences.  Camille Fronk Olsen said at a Matis Fireside when someone asked her “Why is there this cookie cutter mentality in the Church?”  She replied, “It’s easy to focus on the outward appearance. Whatever the Ensign cover looks like, that’s how life should be! But really, the best articles in the Ensign are by ‘Name Withheld'”

So, I’m revealing something personal about myself.

My name is Jeff, and I’m a gay mormon.

6 Responses

  1. NIce to meet you, Jeff:)

  2. So good to hear your resolve Jeff.
    I hope to join you soon in bringing understanding to the members of the church.

  3. Very nice to meet you Jeff

  4. Nice to get to know you Jeff.

  5. Good to meet you Jeff. My real first name starts with a “J” too (you’ve inspired me to inch out of my closet – at least stick my toe out)

  6. Good for you, Jeff! I’m happy for you.

    It was good to see you today. Running into you inspired me to look into your blog as well as jakebean’s.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

