I Remember

This is a poem I wrote a few years ago from an experience I had in a college class when we watched a video about the terrorist attacks on September 11th.  It was my attempt at writing a poem in chiasmus form.  Once again, not anything fantastic and I’m going out on a limb here, so be gentle!

I Remember

I remember,

But not like I used to.

Sitting in a silent room of 600 strangers,

And we remember together

The tragedy.

The loss.

Hundreds.

Thousands.

Gone.

So many,

Too many,

Are gone.

This catastrophe

That brought us together…united we stand

And has torn so many apart…divided we fall

Then

And now.

2 Responses

  1. WOW………………..
    Very good man. Maybe better if you could read it to me 🙂

  2. I love it. Feelings from that day are so personal and affected all of us in different ways, yet all united us as one nation under God. I wish we all would remember more.

Leave a Reply

