The Laramie Project

Tomorrow marks 11 years from the day that Matthew Shepard was murdered.

I recently watched The Laramie Project, a movie about the aftermath of Matthew Shepards death.  It doesn’t try to show any one side of the issue.  It isn’t urging anyone to support gay rights or to hate gays.  In my opinion, it’s purpose is to show the reality of hate crimes and peoples different reactions to them.  Some people react negatively while others wake up to a sense of humanity and love.

It is an incredible, beautiful, heart wrenching movie.

5 Responses

  1. Love that movie, glad you enjoyed it. One of my favorite parts was when those crazy bigot anti-gay protesters came and they surrounded them with people dressed as angels with big wings.

  2. That is a pretty powerful preview. I almost cried.

    It’s all so messed up. It’s kind of like that kid that shot the other kid because the one kid said he liked him in front of their classmates. Seriously. How can some people justify murder?

  3. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve been curious about this for years. Anyone in Utah wanna get a group together to watch it?

  4. Ha, on second thought, I don’t want to be the guy who uses other people’s blogs to propose meet-ups of bloggers. Never mind. I’ll rent it myself and maybe get a friend or two together. 🙂

  5. Hahaha! Thanks O-Mo. I have it if you want to watch it sometime, although it isn’t actually my copy. Hmmm…. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

