Answers to Your Questions

It’s been a week, so I think I will now answer the questions sent to me, so….here it goes!

1 – Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?

In ten years, I will be….34 years old.  Oh man, that is weird to think about.  Well, by the time I am 34, I hope that I will be working with at risk youth in some way or that I will be wedding planner.  Yes, I know….  By this time, I would like to have accomplished the following: taught English in an oriental country, hike the Appalachian trail, and performed extensive humanitarian work in Africa and Central America.  I will also be looking forward to living in this Sustainable Village in Costa Rica.  I mean, really, how could someone give up tree houses?

2 – What are two of your favorite things about Utah?

Wow, ummm….that is tough.  I think the first thing I like is that there is a lot to do here without having to go too far.  Sure, we don’t have an ocean, but we do have the Great Salt Lake.  Ok, that is nothing like the ocean, other than the salt thing.  Really though, I like that within one state, you can go snowboarding or hiking or boating or whatever you want to do.  I think that Utah is a great place for recreation.  The other thing I like about Utah….hmmm….let me think about that….

3 – What do you like most about Logan?

I’m a pretty big fan of USU.  Especially USU basketball (look how manly I can sound).  I think Logan is a really pretty place and that there are some really good people here.

4 – What is your favorite TV show?

Oh man, there are a few that all come in to a close finish.  Here are some of my favorites:  The Office, 24, Parks and Recreation, Lost, What Not To Wear, and Project Runway.

5 – Who is your #1 celebrity crush?

I have a few, I think.  For a long time, it was Tom Cruise, but I think I got over that when I was about 16.  Currently, though, it is a tie between Sufjan Stevens (musician) and Christopher Straub (designer from Project Runway).  I also have a crush on a female celebrity (gasp!).  Her name is Giada De Laurentis (Food Network chef)

Sufjan Stevens

Sufjan Stevens

Chris Straub

Christopher Straub

Giada De Laurentis

Giada De Laurentis

6 – What were you for Halloween?

I was dressed up as someone who goes to work.  And then I went to work.

7 – If you could live anywhere outside the US, where would it be and why?

I would live somewhere in Europe.  I just like the way the culture seems to be, and I would live in a place where the culture really is how my mind perceives it.  Some specific countries would be Holland, France, Italy, Germany, and Spain.

8 – How old were you when you first started noticing feelings of attraction to males?

The first time I thought “I think I might be gay” was when I was 16, but I kept it tucked away in the back of my mind until I was almost home from my mission.  It wasn’t until October of 2008 that I actually “came out” to someone – which was to a therapist and then to an Evergreen group.

9 – If another Moho came to you asking whether you would recommend that they stay/left the church what would you tell them?

I think the most important thing to do in this life is to to prayerfully follow your feelings.  If that person feels that they would be happier outside the church and has felt like Heavenly Father has told them that it is up to them to decide what to do, then they should follow that.

I also think that there is a lot more gray area than “in” and “out” of the church.  I would recommend that if someone were to be in a relationship that they keep a close relationship with God and to attend a church (LDS or not) as much as they feel comfortable.

10 – If you found a woman who would marry you while knowing about you being gay, would you?

I don’t know.  I almost had the chance a few months ago.  My girlfriend knew that I was gay, which was hard for her, but she told me that she wanted to try.  It was sometimes very difficult to be in a relationship because there were days that I just didn’t want to have physical contact with her, and she knew it.

I don’t think that a mixed-orientation marriage is really fair for either partner, so…I don’t necessarily tell anyone that they shouldn’t get married, but I don’t recommend it either.  I would just be VERY cautious before entering into such a serious agreement.  (I know that people will probably disagree with me on this one)

11 – If you found ‘the guy’ would that make you consider all the possible church/family implications and consequences for a chance of having true love?

That is a really hard question for me to answer.  I really don’t know.  I think I would have to be presented with that situation in real life to be able to give a realistic answer.

2 Responses

  1. Love you man. Really, I do. I’m glad you did this question-answer thing. I look up to you too. Your anexample to me – an example in being a normal, church-going, kind, productive, and supportive gay person. Love you Jeff.

  2. Good answers bro!

Leave a Reply

