World Spins Madly On

Everything that I said I’d do
Like make the world brand new
And take the time for you
I just got lost and slept right through the dawn
And the world spins madly on

I let the day go by
I always say goodbye
I watch the stars from my window sill
The whole world is moving and I’m standing still

– The Weepies (World Spins Madly On)

Sometimes I worry about the world spinning on without me.  I don’t worry so much about the way the world is going or anything like that, but more in my personal interactions.  Most of my friends will get married and many will have succesful careers.  My family members will marry, have kids, and have their own families.  I will hopefully have my MoHo friends that will be my “family”.  We’ve half joked about buying land and starting our own little community and have our own family where we can just be ourselves and not have people wonder about why we aren’t married or anything like that.  It will be our way of making our own world spin on.

I don’t want to watch the world spin on without me, but I think I’ll have to make my own kind different life that will help me to feel like I’m moving on with my life too.

5 Responses

  1. Yeah, I think that we are pretty unique in that we’ve got to re-define for ourselves what will be our legacy/mark in the world. Everyone has to find their own, but for LGBT’s it’s an absolute makeover that will look very different from what we dreamed as kids. But, I’m absolutely positive that with a fair amount of extra pondering and effort, ours can be every bit as fulfilling a life as the best of them. I think this is so because of our OGT of being a little more empathetic and compassionate.

    FYI I love you man. You’re an 11 and I can say that with surety now because I know you so well…even if we rarely see each other. Hahaha. I do get to see your family every day and I get to see how your presence and absence affects things. You bring happiness, comfort, and safety to the hearts of those you associate with. Thank you for doing that for me. Love you man. 🙂

  2. That’s so funny! I’d go live there.

    …They should make monasteries for Mormons who can’t get married. That’d be awesome! If I grew up in China I’d have totally been a monk. I’d have spent my entire life devoted to discovering Nirvana.

    This comment is so random and so not going anywhere. Haha. See ya around.

  3. Amen to what Robert said, including the ‘Love you man!”

  4. I’ve never forgotten your taste in music, my friend — apparently, there are just some things (like sitting in choir and transcending everything because David Heard That Absalon Was Slain) you just can’t “spin on” from. You won’t be forgotten, sir.

    Glad you’ve found The Weepies, too. They’re just great!! Perhaps we could iShare sometime?

    Be well–

    favoritenic

  5. @favoritenic

    Absolutely! I would love to iShare with you. I have always appreciated those times back in choir when we would listen to Sir Whitacre. SO Incredible. I have some of his “Paradise Lost” stuff, btw! Let’s get together sometime and appreciate our music together!

Leave a Reply

