Joy

I have a few things that i want to write about and hopefully I will over the next few days, but for right now I feel the need to write about this:

Although I try to optimistic and realistic, there is definitely a part of me that sees the negative in things, and I sometimes dwell on those things.  This has been happening a lot lately and I feel like it would do me some good to list things that I am thankful for, things that bring me joy, or just things that I love.

  1. Independent and/or foreign films – I love these because I think the cinematography is beautiful.  These films often make me think about life and where I am in a particular area in my life. They are amazing tools that give me a lot of self reflection.
  2. Music – I know this is a broad subject, but I love all kinds of music.  The top two kinds of music that I love, though, are choral music and independent music.  Choral music is absolutely astounding and beautiful to me.  I am particularly fond of Eric Whitacre.  I found his music when I was in the 8th grade, and it blew me away.  When I was in high school, I sang a few of his songs and I absolutely loved it.  Anyone who is familiar with him will probably agree.  He writes music that illustrates the words of the song.  For example, in the song Cloudburst, the choir sings about a rainstorm, and the music sounds like a rainstorm.  In Leonardo Dreams of His Flying Machine, the choir sings about Da Vinci inventing a “flying machine”, and the end of the song sounds like flying.  It is incredible.  As far as Indie music goes, I just love it because of its uniqueness and it is something new to listen to.
  3. Hot Chocolate and Herbal Tea – I love hot things, especially when it is drinkable.  Hot chocolate is something that my family loves and we drink tons of it.  When I was in high school, I would often invite friends over and my mom would make us all a cup of hot chocolate.  Right after I got home from my mission, our family would try a new hot chocolate recipe every Monday night.  I found my favorite recipe, and it turns out that I love hot chocolate the most when it is rich and thick.  I love tea, and I love having tea parties.  I just think it is fantastic.
  4. Mystery Science Theather 3000 – yes, yes….I know.  I’m a nerd.  But MS3K is probably one of the funniest things I have ever seen.  I love all of them, especially some of the shorts.  I now have a hard time watching movies without making side comments because of it though.  Here are some of my favorite shorts:  Body Care and Grooming, A Date With Your Family, and Mr. B Natural (part 1 and Part 2).
  5. Thanksgiving – it’s just the best holiday.  That is all.
  6. Helping people – I learned that I really love to help people while I was on my mission, and I plan to have a career that revolves around helping people.

Well, I think that is all that I have for now.  I may update this later today, but for, I think it is good.

2 Responses

  1. Regarding #1: Foreign film is just plain amazing… Amelie (of course!), The Band’s Visit, La Nana, Rashomon.

    Regarding #5: Thanks for sharing the Mr. B Natural Links. I was thinking about that one the other day.

  2. I cannot thank you enough for the things you write. You are helping me understand myself so much better. I really cannot thank you enough.

    Your story is almost exactly like mine (so far) Im 18 and leaving for BYU in the spring to pursue music (big shocker). I haven’t “come out” to anyone yet and am terrified to do so, but you are helping me cope with myself so much. And I have to accept myself before I expect to have others accept me.

    I LOVE Eric Whitacre, he really was the first choral composer that stood out to me and spoke to my soul.
    I also love indie films and Sufjan Stevens more than almost anything (besides music)

Leave a Reply

