A New Pair of Glasses

I got a new pair of glasses today.  I have never worn glasses, and for most of my life, I had near perfect vision.  It’s kind of amazing, actually, that I didn’t get glasses until now.  Most of my family members had to get glasses in their childhood, but somehow I lasted until I was 24.  I’m proud of myself for being the last member of my family to get glasses.

Those of you that wear glasses can probably understand how it felt to realize that your eyesight wasn’t as good as you had thought.  I was amazed to see things suddenly become more clear and defined as the doctor put different lenses in front of my eyes.  Throughout the night, I would look at things without my glasses, and then with them to see the difference.  I could see things so clearly.

I started to wonder, “How did I not know that my eyesight was getting bad?”  It was so obvious!  I had been spending months squinting; I couldn’t see the lines in the road; the fine details in everything were being left out.  Even when I was squinting, I was telling myself that I just wasn’t trying hard enough to focus.

With my glasses on now (which make me look quite incredible, I must say), it is funny to look back and see how I overlooked things and talked myself into believing that I wasn’t losing my once perfect eyesight.

I thought about this tonight, and how it relates to my coming to terms with homosexuality.  It is interesting to look back now and kind of laugh at myself because of how obvious it was.  The fact that I hated dating after my mission; that I would tell myself what girls I had crushes on instead of actually having a crush occur naturally; that I was so intrigued by anything having to do with the “gay community”.  Even when I was starting to come to terms with my homosexuality, I would tell myself that if I just had enough faith, I could be straight.

Now that I am at a better place with it all, I am so happy.  I love who I am – even some of the quirks that I have.

3 Responses

  1. Ha, fun example. …and confession: I’ve secretly wished my vision were worse so I could justify wearing glasses because I think they’re handsome. 🙂

  2. Haha, I think that is okay. I’ve been wanting to wear glasses from the time I was a kid because I think they can be really attractive.

  3. HAHA Four eyes!!! Sorry, I just had to say it.

    Totally agree on everything being more clear looking back. Hindsight is always 20/20 eh!

Leave a Reply

