A Follow Up To My Last Post

I just wrote the letter for the book about my dad.  I’m glad I did.

The last post conveyed very true and real feelings.  So does the letter I wrote.  I think I needed to get the negative out in order to find the positive.  Here is what I wrote:

I am the eagle, I live in high country
In rocky cathedrals that reach to the sky
I am the hawk and there’s blood on my feathers
But time is still turning they soon will be dry
And all of those who see me, all who believe in me
Share in the freedom I feel when I fly

Come dance with the west wind and touch on the mountain tops
Sail o’er the canyons and up to the stars
And reach for the heavens and hope for the future
And all that we can be and not what we are

This song reminds me of when I got my Eagle Scout Award, and you and Ed sang this.  I’ve loved this song since the first time I heard it.  Hearing you sing it for me was really amazing.  I feel like I can relate to the lyrics well and they describe a lot of how I feel.  I think you recognize that.  I’ve always felt like you would support me in whatever decisions I make, and I’m so grateful for that.  You’ve done so much to guide me and help me become who I am.  I am a strong, independent, and compassionate man.

You’ve taught me that when there is blood on my feathers, that time is still turning and they soon will be dry.  Life has a lot to throw at us, but we can be strong and move forward anyway.

From you, I’ve learned to reach for the heavens, hope for the future, and to be all I can be.  I can overcome obstacles and reach my greatest potential.

I’m so grateful for all that you’ve taught me.  Because of you, I know how to control myself better, to stand up for what is right, and to be more loving.  I’m grateful for the countless fathers blessings and support you’ve given me when making hard decisions or going through hard times.

I love you, Dad!

2 Responses

  1. It’s really nice to write letter to ur dad. It shows how much you love him. And from the letter It seems that ur dad really cares about you. ^_^

    I usually consider everyone who has dad are fortunate people. My parents got divorced when I was 1.5, and I’m not really close with my new step dad because he works in another city.
    Maybe that’s why I always interested in older boy. Haha…

    Joned

  2. Very nice. I could have written your last post. We now live next door to my folks and I have ample opportunities to be with my dad. We have both learned and grown a lot over the years. Just spending time with him, although sometimes a bit awkward, helps me to appreciate him more. Learning and understanding more about his childhood and growing up years helps me to see more clearly why he did some of the things he did in raising me.

    We hug more often now, and he more freely expresses his love. I hope the same for you my friend.

Leave a Reply

